Broker License Renewal

 

The current Broker License Renewal Deadlline: April 30, 2018.

Licensed brokers must complete the necessary requirements and submit their renewal application and $150 licensing fee online to the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation (IDFPR) by April 30, 2018 in order to maintain their license and avoid penalties. 

Read IDFPR's License Renewal FAQ for more information. 

License renewal requirements:

  • Brokers who were first licensed on or after February 1, 2016: 30 hours post-license coursework is required - learn more 
  • Brokers who were first licensed before February 1, 2016: 12 hours continuing education required - learn more
  • Brokers who were first licensed after February 1, 2018: no renewal required until 2020 - learn more
Don’t remember when you got your license?
 
Your license expiration date is listed on your IDFPR-issued pocket card. You can use IDFPR’s online license look-up or call 1-888-473-4858.
 

Renewal Q & A  | Renewal Checklist


 

Brokers first licensed on or after February 1, 2016:

You will need to complete 30 hours of Broker Post-license CE before April 30, 2018.  The 30 hours of post-license education must include a 15-hour Broker Post-license Topics course and a 15-hour Broker Post-license Applied Real Estate Principles course. Illinois REALTORS® Licensing & Training Center offers these options:

30-hour Course Package

This package combines the two required courses for new brokers who were licensed after February 1, 2016 and before January 31, 2018:

  • 15-Hour Broker Post-License Topics Home Study (pdf) 
  • 15-Hour Broker Post-License Interactive Applied Real Estate Practices Webinar 

After completing both courses, you will be required to take a 25-question exam for each course at one of the Illinois REALTORS® Licensing & Training Center approved proctor locations.

 

15-hour course options

15- hour Broker Post License Topics

Home Study - $99.00
Item #635 in 
Illinois REALTOR® Store 

 OR

Classroom - Price varies
Contact your local association

15-hour Broker Post License 
Applied Real Estate Practices

Webinar$159.00 - register through Webex

OR

Classroom - Price varies
Contact your local association 


 

Brokers licensed prior to February 1, 2016:

You will need to complete 12 hours of CE before April 30, 2018. The 12 hours must include at least 3 hours of Core A CE, at least 3 hours of Core B CE and a maximum of 6 hours of Elective CE. Core courses will count toward the elective requirement, but elective courses will not count toward the core requirement. Credit hours for the same course cannot be repeated within the same cycle. Illinois REALTORS® Licensing & Training Center offers these options: 


Brokers who were first licensed on or after February 1, 2018:

You do not need to renew in 2016 and no CE is required. Your requirement will be 30 hours of Broker Post-license coursework by April 30, 2020.