DR Legal News: Election Results

Election Results

by Mike Scobey, Assistant Director, RVoice and Local Advocacy

Home Rule

Illinois REALTORS® Defeat Home Rule in Five Municipalities

    Illinois REALTORS® delivered crushing defeats to 5 referenda that sought Home Rule powers. The April 4 referenda were in Lynwood, Ottawa, Coal City, Warrensburg and Creve Coeur. The defeats were at 2-to-1 margins or more.  

    Home rule is a form of municipal government which enables several policies that are troubling to REALTORS® and property owners. These include real estate transfer taxes, point-of-sale home inspections, rental property inspections and licensure. In addition, home rule units have the ability to increase property taxes without any kind of limitation.

    Learn more about home rule at the Real Property Alliance.

    Election Activity at the Local Level

    IE MailersIllinois REALTORS® provided Independent Expenditure support to 19 candidates in the 2017 Municipal Elections. Twelve of them won their respective races.

    The victorious candidates were:

    • Paul S. Braun, Flossmoor Mayor
    • Kevin R. Burns, Geneva Mayor
    • Kevin Michael Coyne, Naperville City Councilman
    • Ronald Gardiner, Glenwood Village President
    • Jim Holland, Frankfort Village President
    • Marty McLaughlin, Barrington Hills Village President
    • Tom McNamara, Rockford Mayor
    • Jodi Miller, Freeport Mayor
    • REALTOR® Zachary Oyler, Peoria At-large City Councilman
    • Riley Rogers, Dolton Mayor (assisted in Primary)
    • Charles E. Tokar, Chicago Ridge Village President and
    • Mary M. Werner, Worth Village President

    Rockford Mayor McNamara

    Illinois REALTORS® Local Governmental Affairs Director Conor Brown, left, and Rockford Area Association of REALTORS® AE Steve Bois, right, congratulate newly-elected Rockford Mayor Tom McNamara

    In addition to the Independent Expenditures, RPAC supported several REALTORS® who were candidates in the April 4th Municipal Elections. 18 REALTORS® won, capturing a variety of elected offices, including village president, city clerk, city council, village trustee and township trustee.

    The following are the winners of their races:

    • Marilyn Glazer, Supervisor, Niles Township
    • Don Gelfund, Trustee, Niles Township
    • Angie Brix, Champaign City Council
    • Dean Hardt, Belleville City Treasurer
    • Elizabeth Hellrung, Jarvis Township Trustee
    • Kristine Klein, Hampshire Village Trustee
    • Julie Lilly, Taylorville City Clerk
    • Kimmy Martinez, Hebron Village President
    • Dan Moroney, Oak Park Village Trustee
    • Rita O’Connor, Long Grove Village Trustee
    • Bobbie O’Reilly, Long Grove Village Trustee
    • Zach Oyler, Peoria City Council
    • Carol Porter, Volo Village Trustee
    • Alicia Ruiz, Berwyn Alderman
    • Renee Saban, Lockport Alderman
    • Terry Seymour, Godfrey Township Supervisor
    • Stan Sieron, Stookey Township Assessor; and
    • Greg Stock, Champaign City Council

    These two types of support—RPAC contributions and Independent Expenditures-- enable the Illinois REALTORS to have a strong political presence at the local level. This involvement is important because local governments have the ability to enact numerous measures which impact the real estate industry and real property rights.