Did you miss the broker license renewal deadline?
Illinois brokers who failed to renew their real estate licenses, complete their renewal applications and pay their fees to the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation (IDFPR) by April 30 must contact IDFPR for direction. They cannot practice selling real estate until the matter is resolved.
IDFPR is available by phone 1-800-560-6420 or email FPR.firstname.lastname@example.org.
Get the full Q&A on what happens after the April 30 Illinois Broker License Renewal deadline.
A late renewal fee of $50 is added to the license renewal fee of $150, making a total of $200.
In addition, those who renew without completing the required CE could face a penalty of up to $75 per 3 hour course, or $25 per credit hour, that you were deficient (e.g., deficient 3 hours, $75 penalty).
Those who were required to take post-license courses but renewed and then discovered they took CE will likely be notified of the mistake after the IDFPR audit. Those brokers should take the post-license coursework as soon as possible so the correct records may be sent to the department. Brokers may still be fined up to $25 per credit hour, but it is always best to notify the department to avoid additional penalties. Unfortunately, the CE completed will not count for the brokers’ next renewal cycle.
What if brokers can’t find a course? The 15-hour Broker Post-License Topics may be taken by home study delivery, but if the Broker Post License Applied Real Estate Practices course isn’t available through any schools, a private instructor may be hired.
IDFPR website does not show updates immediately – The online License Lookup is updated daily but changes should appear in one to two business days, depending on volume.
Email notifications pending – Brokers who completed their CE, paid the fee and submitted the renewal form on or before April 30 may practice their profession even if they have not received the email notification yet.
The email notification will come from IDFPR Notification (FPR.email@example.com).
Keep copies – Brokers should keep records of their CE, their online renewal confirmation and payment in the case of an audit. Primary source verification and evidence that they are licensed can be obtained free of charge by visiting the IDFPR online License Lookup database at:https://ilesonline.idfpr.illinois.gov/DPR/Lookup/LicenseLookup.aspx.
Also, brokers may print out a screen shot of their license number showing that it is active. If the IDFPR does not have a current email address for a broker, he or she should notify the department immediately. Brokers can change their email addresses by contacting the IDFPR at:https://www.idfpr.com/applications/LicenseReprint/.
License Renewal Requirements:
By April 30, 2016 Illinois Broker licensees must have completed the necessary requirements and applied to renew their license through the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation (IDFPR).
All renewal and licensing is done electronically through the IDFPR website. Read IDFPR's news release and FAQ for more information. When you have completed the required coursework submit your renewal application and $150 licensing fee to IDFPR by April 30, 2016 at www.idfpr.com.
View your license renewal requirements by selecting one of the options below.
Brokers first licensed on or after February 1, 2014:
You will need to complete 30 hours of Broker Post-license CE before April 30, 2016. The 30 hours of post-license education must include a 15-hour Broker Post-license Topics course and a 15-hour Broker Post-license Applied Real Estate Principles course. IAR Licensing & Training Center offers these options:
|30-hour Course Package|
This package combines the two required courses for new brokers who were licensed after February 1, 2014 and before January 31, 2016:
- 15-Hour Broker Post-License Topics Home Study (pdf)
- 15-Hour Broker Post-License Interactive Applied Real Estate Practices Webinar
After completing both courses, you will be required to take a 25-question exam for each course at one of the Illinois REALTORS® Licensing & Training Center approved proctor locations.
|15-hour course options|
15- hour Broker Post License Topics
Home Study - $99.00
Item #635 in Illinois REALTOR® Store
Classroom - Price varies
Contact your local association
15-hour Broker Post License
Applied Real Estate Practices
Webinar- $159.00 - register through Webex
Classroom - Price varies
Contact your local association
Brokers licensed prior to February 1, 2014:
You will need to complete 12 hours of CE before April 30, 2016. The 12 hours must include at least 3 hours of Core A CE, at least 3 hours of Core B CE and a maximum of 6 hours of Elective CE. Core courses will count toward the elective requirement, but elective courses will not count toward the core requirement. Credit hours for the same course cannot be repeated within the same cycle. Illinois REALTORS® Licensing & Training Center offers these options:
Brokers who were first licensed AFTER February 1, 2016:
You do not need to renew in 2016 and no CE is required. Your requirement will be 30 hours of Broker Post-license coursework by April 30, 2018.
Don’t remember when you got your license?
Your license expiration date is listed on your IDFPR-issued pocket card. You can use IDFPR’s online license look-up: https://ilesonline.idfpr.illinois.gov/DPR/Lookup/LicenseLookup.aspx or call 1-888-473-4858.
Again, when you have completed the required coursework submit your renewal application with the $150 State of Illinois licensing fee to the Illinois Department of Financial & Professional Regulation (IDFPR) by April 30, 2016.